This site will look much better in a browser that supports web standards, but it is accessible to any browser or Internet device.

Skip to Content

Committee Work

Senator Fraser is a member of the following Senate committees:

Senator Fraser is the Deputy Chair of the Legal and Constitutional Affairs Committee.  Recently the committee studied C-10 (Omnibus Bill), S-16 (Tackling Contraband Tobacco Act), and S-209 (An Act to Amend the Criminal Code (Prize Fights)).

In previous sessions the committee studied bills C-2 (Tackling Violent Crime Act), C-11 (Nunavik Inuit Land Claims Agreement), C-13 (criminal procedure, language of the accused, sentencing and other amendments).  The committee has also studied the implications of non-derogation clauses in legislation relating to existing Aboriginal and treaty rights of the Aboriginal peoples of Canada and has conducted a comprehensive review of the amendments made by An Act to amend the Canada Elections Act and the Income Tax Act. 

There is an extensive list of legislation that will come before the committee for study in the current session.

Matters before the Rules Committee affect the conduct of Senators and the organization of debate within the Senate Chamber.  In November 2011 the committee completed a comprehensive review of the Rules of the Senate. The revised Rules came into effect on September 1, 2012 and included a full index for ease of use.

The committee previously studied the possibility of televising Senate Chamber proceedings, how Aboriginal languages may be incorporated for use in debate, and the reintroduction of bills in new sessions of Parliament.


Senator Fraser has been a member of various other committees.  She was Chair of the Transport and Communications committee from 2003-2005 during the committee’s study of the Canadian News Media.  The final report can be seen here.  She has also been a member of the Official Languages and National Finance committees and of the Special Committee on Anti-terrorism.  Senator Fraser was chair of the Special Committee on Bill C-20 (the Clarity Act) in 2000.